Saturday, August 06, 2005

Birthstone Jewelry Beliefs and Celebrity Birthdays

Sam Serio



Wearing birthstone jewelry is very popular today. Not only is it fashionable; somehow, it also makes the item feel more personal and part of the wearer's personality. Almost all gems are believed to be imbued with some special sort of power and this is one of the reasons why it is considered lucky to wear birthstone jewelry. Let's look at some of the mystical properties and beliefs about these special gems and some famous people who would wear them.

January's birthstone, the garnet, is believed to have blood purification properties and to protect against poisoning. Actress Faye Dunaway and supermodel Kate Moss are two celebrities who were born in January.

The amethyst, the gem of the month for February, is a symbol of serenity and peace. In addition, it's reputed to protect the wearer from intoxication. Princess Stephanie of Monaco, singer Roberta Flack and actress Drew Barrymore have amethysts in their birthstone jewelry.

March's birthstone is the clear blue aquamarine. Perhaps because of its color, it is sacred among sailors, who believe that it will protect them from the perils of the sea. NBA player Shaquille O'Neal, heartthrob Freddie Prinze Jr. and singing legend Liza Minnelli are among the celebrities who are under the protection of the aquamarine.

The eternally stylish and elegant diamond is April's birthstone. Believed to symbolize true love, it is the most popular gem used in wedding rings. Among the notables having diamond birthstone jewelry are England's Queen Elizabeth II, actress Jessica Alba and tennis player Andre Agassi.

May's birthstone is the enigmatic emerald. Some people believe that emeralds are magic and had the ability to make the wearer psychic. Famous people having the emerald as their birthstone include British Prime Minister Tony Blair, socialite Bianca Jagger and singer Janet Jackson.

The simple and classic pearl is the birthstone for June. It is viewed by various cultures as a symbol of power, love, purity and chastity. Pearl birthstone jewelry celebrities count sex symbols Marilyn Monroe and Angelina Jolie among their numbers.

The red ruby is July's birthstone. It is believed to help in matters of love and to enhance sexual prowess. Hollywood actor Tom Cruise and the late Diana, Princess of Wales, are among the celebrities born in July.

Birthstone jewelry for August includes the lime green peridot, is traditionally believed to give good sleep and protect the wearer from nightmares. Oscar winner Halle Berry and Grammy winner Whitney Houston are two of the women who count the peridot as their birthstone.

Sapphire is the birthstone for September. It is believed the give the power of precognition and is also linked to joy and peace. Two glamorous figures who can be poster babies for sapphire birthstone jewelry are actresses Brigitte Bardot and Gwyneth Paltrow.

The delicate opal is October's birthstone. Some cultures believe the opal brings bad luck, while others associate it with innocence and purity. Tony-winning actress Julie Andrews and U.S. Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton were born in October.

The topaz is central in November's birthstone jewelry. Medicine men and women in some cultures used ground topaz in their concoctions to heal asthma, and the birthstone was also reputed to have a calming effect on the quick-tempered. The late Princess Grace Kelly of Monaco and Hollywood actress Demi Moore are two examples of famous November babies.

Finally, we have turquoise as December's birthstone. The Indians of North America revered this gem because of its power to warn the wearer of danger and because of the luck it brought. Pop princess Britney Spears and film director Steven Spielberg celebrate their birthdays in December.

Wearing birthstone jewelry is a popular tradition that continues to this day. Necklaces, rings, bracelets, earrings, brooches and many other dress accessories adorned with these gems are not only fashionable but also more meaningful for the wearer or for the recipients of such gifts. Also, having birthstone jewelry is a reminder that you have at least one thing in common with celebrities!


For more information on jewelry and gemstones, we cordially invite you to visit www.morninglightjewelry.com to pick up your FREE copy of "How To Buy Jewelry And Gemstones Without Being Ripped Off." This concise, informative special report reveals almost everything you ever wanted to know about jewelry and gemstones, but were afraid to ask. Get your FREE report at www.morninglightjewelry.com.

Christmas Gifts Can Be a Cheating Husband's Undoing
Ruth Houston

Have you been plagued by the nagging feeling that your husband might be having an affair? Well. Christmas is probably the ideal time to confirm your suspicions and perhaps find additional proof of your husband's infidelity, as well.

It's only natural for lovers to want to buy gifts for each other like everyone else during the holiday season. But this exchange of gifts could prove to be a cheating husband's undoing.
An observant wife can find some important clues if she knows what to look for.

Gifts cost money. No man who's cheating on his wife is going to give his lover a cheap token of his affection. If he doesn't want to incur her wrath, he has to buy her a decent gift. Unless he's been squirreling away small sums over a period of weeks of months, the money has to come from somewhere. Have there been any suspicious withdrawals from your checking or savings accounts? Check the time period shortly before, during, or after the holiday season. Have there been any sizeable, unexplained ATM withdrawals during this time?

What about credit card statements for the same period of time? Has he made any unusual charges at jewelry stores, boutiques or women's specialty stores? What about actual store receipts? If you find records of purchases made for gift items that you didn't personally receive, that should raise a red flag in your mind. Who did he give these gifts to, if not to you?

Look around your home for hidden gifts - underneath the bed, in the back of a drawer, on the floor at the back of the closet, the back of a little used shelf. Don't forget to check the car, as well. - under the seat, in the glove compartment, the trunk, the tire well. If you find a hidden gift, don't automatically jump to conclusions unless it's obvious that the gift was not intended for you (too large, too small, a color or style that he knows you wouldn't wear, or has another woman's name attached) But if New Year's Day rolls around and you still haven't received the gift, then obviously it was given to someone else. Make it your business to find out who.

Beverley was ecstatic when she found s box containing a hand crafted, one of a kind gold bracelet she'd been admiring for some time. However, Christmas came and went, the box disappeared, but Beverley never received the bracelet. A few weeks later, at her health club, Beverley noticed a woman wearing a bracelet identical to the one in the box. After some discreet checking around, and finding several other clues to corroborate her suspicions, Beverly found out her husband and this woman were having an affair.

Laura found a box containing a sexy satin negligee in the trunk of her husband Paul's car. He tried to pass it off as a gift he's bought for her, but upon closer examination she saw that it was 5 sizes too small. Paul tried in vain to convince Laura that the salesclerk had mistakenly put the wrong size in the box. But since she'd previously found other telltale signs of an affair, his excuses fell on deaf ears.

Warning bells should go off if your husband gives or receives a gift of an extremely personal nature. No woman other than yourself should be giving your husband � dozen pairs of silk boxer shorts for Christmas -- unless it's his mother or his sister (and even then you should check to make sure.)

Also be wary if your husband gives or receives a disproportionately extravagant gift to or from any woman who is supposedly a casual friend or business acquaintance. Any unusually expensive gifts that suddenly appear in his possession during the holidays should be regarded at with suspicion. Especially if he tries to pass them off as things he purchased for himself, but can't produce any receipts.

If you've found other warning signs of infidelity during the previous weeks or months, the Christmas gifts could be the missing pieces of the infidelity puzzle. Sit down and have a serious talk with your husband. Your marriage may be in jeopardy. Find out what's going on before it's too late.
© 2003

# # #


RUTH HOUSTON is the author of "Is He Cheating on You? - 829 Telltale Signs." For more information about the book or to sign up for her f*r*e*e Infidelity Newsletter visit www.IsHeCheatingOnYou.com or e-mail to CheatingSigns@aol.com

Wednesday, August 03, 2005

Ways to Prevent a Hectic Morning

Johann Erickson

Morning can often be a hectic time. Dragging yourself out of bed, making breakfast and getting ready, all in a short amount of time, is sometimes a stressful feat, but it doesn't have to be. These simple tips will help you de-stress and enjoy your mornings a lot more... even on Mondays.



Some days it's next to impossible to get out of bed. Give your body an energy boost first thing in the morning by keeping a chilled glass of juice by the bed. A few sips of fresh-squeezed orange juice can give you a boost and get you moving.



Do a few easy stretches to get your blood flowing and ease morning stiffness. A simple stretching routine every morning will not only make you feel better, it's also a great way to start the day.



Set aside a few minutes in the morning just for pampering yourself. Give yourself a quick massage, use a revitalizing face mask, or treat your skin with your favorite lotion. One great product for really pampering yourself is the Roll-A-Lotion massager and lotion applicator. It massages all over while applying your choice of lotion.



Or treat your feet and hands by applying an intense conditioning cream. Your nails and cuticles will benefit too.



Keep morning stress to a minimum by making things easy on yourself. Choose your outfit and do any ironing or other preparations before going to bed, so you can quickly get dressed in the morning. Lay out matching jewelry and accessories as well, so you aren't frantically searching for that matching earring or stocking without a run.



Keep your makeup and other accessories in a divided organizer so you can quickly grab just what you want. Free up your hands and save some time by investing in a hair dryer stand so you can style your hair quickly and easily. Hair dryer stands such as the one Seen on TV, are easily adjustable so you can use your hands to keep getting ready while your hair dries.



You've heard it before - breakfast is the right way to start the day. Well, it's true. Eating a healthy breakfast isn't just good for your body, it keeps your blood sugar levels even and helps reduce stress. Even if you're having a difficult morning, it will be much easier to handle if you've had a good breakfast.



It's easy to incorporate breakfast into your routine. You can eat cereal, yogurt or even a boiled egg while drying your hair. Or add a few extra minutes into your morning routine to sit down and enjoy a bowl of oatmeal.



Don't let the rush and demands of life steal away the beauty and peace of the morning. By taking just a few extra minutes in the right places, such as with a short massage, and saving a little time in other places, such as putting on makeup while drying your hair, you can make your mornings a lot less stressful and a lot more enjoyable.

Johann Erickson is the owner of Online Discount Mart and TV Products 4 Less. He is also a contributing writer for sites such as Helpful Home Ideas. Please include an active link to our site if you'd like to reprint this article.

Design Your Own Beautiful Wedding Ring
Donna Monday

It used to be that if you wanted to buy a nice custom-made wedding ring, you'd have to visit some fancy high-end jewelry store and be willing to part with a large portion of your wedding budget.

Well that's still the case for some people, but thanks to our modern times it's now possible for you and anyone else who wants a custom wedding ring to create a unique diamond wedding ring from the comfort of your own home.

Oleg Cassini will have nothing on you as you sit in your chair sipping a soda looking at the various wedding ring photos that your favorite online jewelry store makes easily available.

You will quickly see that it's easy to design your own wedding ring online. The first thing you want to look at when you set out to build your own wedding ring is the setting. You'll have your choice of wedding ring settings in various metals like: gold, white gold, sterling silver, and platinum. While studying the stylish settings, be sure to check your ring size for accuracy in purchasing a comfortable fitting wedding ring.

Next, you'll want to select the right diamond to fit your setting. The common diamond cut shapes are: round, pear, emerald, princess, marquise, oval, radiant, heart, and Asscher. You will probably take a while just studying all the attributes of the various diamond shapes and sizes. Of course, you can always choose to purchase the setting online and then take it to your local jeweler to have it fit with a diamond.

You are the designer extraordinaire! You are not bound by what someone else thinks you will like. So, go ahead and feel free to create your own wedding ring. There's nobody else to please but you.

And you will just love the results.


Copyright 2004
Donna Monday
One special moment. One special ring.
http://www.1-love-rings.com

Tuesday, August 02, 2005

Wire Jewelry With Gold Filled, Sterling Silver, Gemstone Pendants

Bright Builders

"Wire Jewelry" with gold filled and sterling silver; cabochons, cameos and faceted stones including bracelets, pendants, necklaces and earrings custom handcrafted. Fashion Jewelry uniquely designed for that one-of-a-kind look, durability and satisfaction. Intricate wire sculptured designs in latest contemporary, vintage or traditional styles. graceful and intriguing for that lasting impression. Each piece is carefully put together in my home to essentuate your character and style. No Mass Produced Machine-Made Jewelry only beautiful pieces you won't find anywhere else... or see on anyone else.




Turquoise Pendant
Intarsia

Sculpted Wire Jewelry-Glass Dichroic Pendants


Dichroic Glass Pendants


Shop from home for the most extensive and affordable selection of appealing unique wire sculpted designs to keep or give.


14K Gold or Sterling Silver;Birthstone, cameo, Cabochon, Dichroic or Gemstone Pendants sculpted for that one-of-a-kind look that suits you and your wardrobe perfectly. Nobody else will have anything like it!


Handcrafted Jewelry designed using Cameos, Glass Dichroics, Faceted Gemstone, Osmena Pearl, Turquoise, Onyx, �Birthstones and many other brilliant stones. Choose from Wire Jewelry sculptured into beautiful faceted gemstone pendants, Cameo pendants, Dichroic glass pendants, Birthstone necklaces, earrings and bracelets all hand sculpted in 14k gold filled and Sterling Silver.


Whether your taste is traditional, contemporary, vintage, antique or high-fashion you have arrived at an art gallery that's as distinctive and unique as you are...Search the entire list of handcrafted designer creations for that special "one of a kind" art that your friends and family will love.



Gemstone And Cameos


Opal Cameo Pendant
Birthstone Necklaces
Faceted Gemstone Bracelet

The designs you see has been conceived and executed with artistic ideas created into dazzling reality with timeless beauty and enduring value. Gold Jewelry lovers or Sterling Silver; all designs are artistically hand sculptured designed work of art.




Handmade jewelry, the designer jewelry that no one owns by you, is the only kind of jewelry I sell.
I've got so many extraordinary pieces of handcrafted jewelry to show you? Each has been built strand by strand of gold and silver wire into a singular work of art. There's no soldering, no gluing, and no welding. Just the alchemy that I use to transform precious metal and gemstones into more precious pieces of breathtaking handmade jewelry.

SEO Writing Strategies for Graphic-Oriented Sites
Karon Thackston

by Karon Thackston © 2003
http://www.copywritingcourse.com

As a copywriter, I'd love to tell you that every site on the Web needs tons of copy. However, the simple truth is not all do. Many sites simply produce better sales when they use more graphics than words. Since search engines are hungry for words you simply have to use copy if you plan to get ranked high. Quite a dilemma, isn't it?

So what do you do if you're a graphic designer, if you sell jewelry, or if you have another site that needs more pictures than copy? Don't despair. There are some strategies that can help you reach a happy medium satisfying both your visitors and the engines.

1. Use Descriptions - Place keyworded descriptions under each graphic on your pages. Just a sentence or two for each one can add up and give you enough room to achieve good keyword saturation.

2. Break the Copy Into Sections - Instead of having all 250-350 words of copy in one place, break your copy into small sections. For example, place a headline and three sentences at the top of the page, a few words under your bottom navigation bar, and a short paragraph above your "Order Now" link. The engines will find the words regardless of where on the page they are, but your visitors won't be overwhelmed by seeing all the copy in one place.

3. Don't Neglect ALT Tags - Don't abuse them, either! ALT tags (technically known as image alt attributes) are designed to give short descriptions of graphics on your page. They are read to those who can't see well (when they use special text-to-speech software). Abusing ALT tags by stuffing them full of arbitrary keywords or extremely long descriptions is frowned upon by the engines. However, feel free to assign a short keyword phrase that describes each graphic you have.

4. Go Below the Fold - Copy can always be placed "below the fold." This term is used to describe the section of your index page that is not visible when the page first loads. In order to see it, the visitor would have to scroll vertically. If you've designed your index page to be fully visible without scrolling, consider using the space below the design to insert your copy.

5. Use the Sidebar - If your site design uses a sidebar for the navigation links, use the empty space for short bits of copy. Even the statement "Order ________ Now" will give you one more instance of keyword placement.

6. Create Bulleted Lists - Many people don't perceive lists as copy. For this reason, you can use bulleted lists (or numbered lists) where traditional "sentence" copy wouldn't work. Tip: Instead of creating a list that reads:

We meet all your ____ needs by:

�offering the lowest price.
�providing first-rate service.
�shipping your order in just 24 hours.

Create a list that reads like this:

At ABC Company, we offer you:

�the lowest price on ______.
�first-rate service. Ask us any questions you have about ____.
�shipping of your _____ in just 24 hours.

See the difference? More keywords in the same amount of copy.

If you use a little creativity, you can get enough keyword saturation in your copy without it cluttering up your site. This is sure to please both the search engines and your site visitors.



Copy not getting results? Let Karon write targeted, SEO copy for you. Visit her site at http://www.marketingwords.com, or learn to write your own copy at http://www.copywritingcourse.com. Don't forget to subscribe to Karon's free ezine at http://www.marketingwords.com/ezine.html

Monday, August 01, 2005

Sterling Silver Jewelry Fashion Trends for the New Year and Beyond

Sam Serio



Each year, on fashion runways from New York to Paris, Milan, and Toyko, sterling silver is "new again" as designers interpret it in new and exciting ways. What makes sterling silver a fashion perennial? The answer is clear: when it comes to beauty, versatility, durability, and affordability, sterling silver jewelry is unsurpassed.
In the hands of talented artists and designers, sterling silver is constantly "reinvented" to suit the evolving tastes of the women who wear it. But whether as a ring, a necklace, or bracelet, standing alone or presented in combination with gemstones and other precious metals-sterling silver is always in fashion.
Here's a look at what's "hot" this year:
Peace of Silver
In 2004, many Oscar presenters and recipients wore gracefully and simply designed "Dove of Peace." pin. Embraced by such Hollywood luminaries as Meryl Streep, Susan Sarandon, Drew Barrymore, and Leonardo DiCaprio, it has also been seen on the Dali Lama and Nobel Peace Laureates Oscar Aria Sanchez, Betty Williams, Mairead Corrigan Maguire, and former UN Assistant Secretary-General Gillian Sorrensom.
Now non-celebrities may purchase the pin in sterling silver pin to demonstrate both their commitment to peace and their fashion sense. The 2005 sterling silver interpretation was designed by award-winning American jewelry artist Henry Dunay to resonate the energy of Picasso's "Dove Of Peace."
Silver Screen
With the enormous popularity of the "Lord of the Rings" series, it comes as no surprise that designers have created jewelry based on the elaborately crafted pieces in the films. Based on the actual pendant worn in the Lord of the Rings film, the Arwen Evenstar Pendant is crafted in sterling silver and comes in a wooden gift box. Measuring 2-1/2 inches in length with a 18" sterling silver chain and a Swarovski crystal stone, each piece is accompanied by a certificate of authenticity, adding long-term value to its other charms.
Works Like A Charm
Charm bracelets are both wonderfully retro and extremely cutting edge. Britney Spears, Jennifer Lopez, Avril Levigne, Hilary Duff, and other high-visibility high-fashion celebrities are wrapping their wrists in silver bracelets with the hip L.A. brand "Eldorado Club."
The "Girlie Charm Bracelet" is adorned with charming femme-friendly charms including a cat, a cocktail glass, and a kitty.
Sterling Silver - Always In Style for Your 25th Anniversary No matter what list you consult -- traditional, modern or the now popular "ultra-modern" (which includes items like clocks and appliances) -- silver is the 21st Century gift of choice for a 25th wedding anniversary. Whether it's silver's durability, its strength, its flexibility or its unparalleled beauty, sterling silver is an exquisite memento of 25 years of loving commitment between a couple.
Topping the list of this year's "What's Hot" in silver wedding anniversary gifts, women say they want charm bracelets, hoop earrings, and hair ornaments. For wives who would like to present their husbands with sterling silver tokens, the "top of the charts" picks are cufflinks, tie clips, money clips, neck chains, and I.D. bracelets.
But #1 for him AND her -- a classic sterling silver Tiffany keyring.


For more information on jewelry and gemstones, we cordially invite you to visit www.morninglightjewelry.com to pick up your FREE copy of "How To Buy Jewelry And Gemstones Without Being Ripped Off." This concise, informative special report reveals almost everything you ever wanted to know about jewelry and gemstones, but were afraid to ask. Get your FREE report at www.morninglightjewelry.com.

The Bigger the Carat the Better the Wedding?
Donna Monday

Ahh . . . sweet romance.

The flowers. The chocolate. The late night whispers of "I love you."

For most people in love, the culmination of months of togetherness and special friendship comes down to one single moment: The marriage proposal - - featuring a simple, but elegant, diamond engagement ring.

Of course, if you're a celebrity, a simple ring may not have enough wattage to suit your tastes. Thus, we see many celebrities sporting five-carat to seven-carat diamond studded engagement and wedding rings.

Well, if you can afford it, why not flaunt it, right?

Take for instance the recent marriages of Britney Spears and Star Jones. When Britney Spears got engaged to her former back up dancer, Kevin Federline, she promptly bought herself an awesome-looking five-carat diamond engagement ring. (Does anyone really believe that Kevin bought this for her on his dancer's salary?)

Britney bought herself the ring she felt she deserved - nothing wrong with that. Then, she and Kevin quickly made the leap to matrimony in a matter of months with a surprisingly nice (no lip kissing of Madonna) wedding ceremony.

As for Star Jones, it's not known whether her stunning seven-carat princess cut diamond ring was bought or donated, but she too happily skipped off to a wedding ceremony with all the trimmings.

So, does all this extra diamond wattage mean that celebrities have a better wedding ceremony than everyone else?

Absolutely, not.

There's absolutely no proof that their multi-carat diamond rings and fancy wedding accommodations gave them any more satisfaction at the alter than Joe and Jane Doe's down right sparse nuptials in a run-down back yard.

Buying the biggest and fanciest diamond engagement ring on the planet doesn't guarantee anything but a nice piece of ice jewelry to show off to your family and friends. Other than that, celebrities have the same odds for a successful, happy union as the rest of us.

And that's the way it should be.


Copyright 2004
Donna Monday
One special moment. One special ring.
http://www.1-love-rings.com

How to Choose Fine Pearls

Amanda Raab

Pearls are very alluring and hold a quality that both defines elegance and natural beauty. There are more varieties and availability of pearls today than ever before. The "cultured pearl" now rivals with fine diamonds, sapphires, emeralds, and rubies.
Today most pearls are cultured, meaning that the mollusk is purposely inserted with an irritant or "nucleus" from which it creates a pearl. A better way to think of the difference between natural pearls and cultured pearls is to think of the natural pearl as a result of the mollusk working alone and the cultured pearls as a product of nature being helped by science. Cultured pearls are not "fake" like many people may think. The culturing process takes from two to three years and is a very delicate process. The pearl farmers have little control on what the outcome of the pearl will look like or if the mollusk will reject the nucleus. Not all pearls are fine quality or even desirable at all. The end result is ultimately a consequence of nature.
Choosing pearls that are of the best quality are determined by luster, nacre thickness and quality (the outer layer), color, surface perfection, shape, and size. The biggest factor of pearl quality is nacre thickness and quality which determines how long the pearl will last. Nacre thickness determines the longevity of the pearl and nacre quality determines how light reflects through the layers of the pearls. High luster and iridescence come from high quality nacre and any pearl with these characteristics has quality, thick nacre. When judging nacre look for uniform iridescence, intensity of luster, cracks and peeling, estimate thickness near the drill hole between the nacre and the shell bead (nacre is lighter). Pearls are very thick with at least .5 mm on all pearls, thick with at least.5mm on most pearls, medium with between .35 and .5 mm on most pearls, and thin with .25 mm or less on most pearls.
Luster is also important and one of the first factors to notice. Luster is an intense brightness that illuminates from within the pearl rather than just being "shiny" like in imitation pearls. The intense brightness results from light being reflected throughout the numerous layers of nacre. Quality pearls will have a sharp contrast between the brightest area where direct light is hitting the pearls and the shaded area creating an illusion of a "ball within the pearl." Check for luster by examining them under a fluorescent lamp and rolling them from side to side to examine uniform luster. Examine pearls over a light gray or white material and never black because it is harder to see the true quality of the pearl.
Pearl color is also important. When choosing pearls note there body color and overtones. The most desirable and more rare white pearls have "rose" colored overtones. Cream colored pearls are more affordable because they are less rare. Also, pearls can have tones rated in intensity. Darker toned pearls are more desirable and expensive compared to lighter toned pearls. Many natural body colors are available in pearls including white, black, gray, blue, gold, pink, and green. Distinctive colored pearls are rarer and harder to find. Have a qualified gemologist check the pearls to make sure they have not been dyed, especially for costlier pearls like the black or golden varieties.
Examine pearls' surface for blemishes. Although is best to check for most pearl characteristics on a light background, it is best to check for blemishes on a dark background. Check in both intense and diffused light. No pearls are perfect and small blemishes can be sacrificed for more important quality like nacre and luster. Pearls with higher luster conceal blemishes better.
When choosing pearls also consider shape. There are three pearl shapes including symmetrical, spherical, and baroque. The spherical is the rarest and most desirable. Symmetrical pearls include teardrop or pear-shaped pearls and desirable but usually less expensive than spherical pearls. Baroque pearls are irregularly shaped and often the least expensive.
Size should also be taken into consideration. Larger cultured pearls are rarer and more expensive. Akoya pearls over 7 � millimeters are much more costly and prices dramatically rise with each � millimeter over 8 millimeters. South Sea and Tahitian pearls also have high increase in price when size is over 15 millimeters.
One more factor to consider in pearls is the precision in matching the pearl quality in a string of pearls. It is important to take all of the above factors in consideration when matching the pearls. Graduated pearls also take careful matching. Pearl matching affects the value of the jewelry because when pearls are not matched properly it takes away from the appearance of the jewelry. Also, make sure the pearls are all drilled in the center so they lay properly. Off-center drilled pearls will not lay correctly and reduces the value of the piece.
It is always important to get a independent laboratory report when in doubt of pearl enhancements that may have been employed to make the pearls appear more valuable. Make sure the person appraising the pearls is a Graduate Gemologist (GG) which is the Gemological Institute of America's (GIA)highest award.
Other things to consider when purchasing pearls include finding out what the merchant's return policy is. Make sure they have at least a 30-day full refund policy.
Pure Pearls at www.purepearls.com is an excellent place to find fine quality pearl jewelry including Akoya pearls, Tahitian pearls, and Freshwater pearls. Pure Pearls has all of its pearl pieces appraised by a Graduate Gemologist and offers a 45-day guaranteed satisfaction policy.

President Of Pure Pearls
http://www.purepearls.com
Classic. Timeless. Luxury

How to Get Your Talent Online and Earning Income
Lorene Radenz

Finding fresh ideas for an internet business is a difficult task. Everyone is good at something but they don't know how to cash in on their knowledge. You may think what you know is of no value but you're wrong! You would be surprised to find out how many people are earning a comfortable income on seemingly trivial subjects.

Find Your Niche

You've heard it before but it bears repeating. Why? Because it works! The key is to be happy doing what you enjoy and what you're good at, and then build your online business based on those factors. If you don't enjoy the subject, you will bore of it quickly and it will seem like any other job. You will be learning more as you go, so make it interesting. Find something people are attracted to or something that solves a problem.

Are you good at services? Many services can easily be transferred to an online business as well. Putting up a website and announcing what you have to offer can get you more sales than you can imagine. Display samples of your work if possible. Testimonials from satisfied customers are crucial. If you must, do some work for free in exchange for testimonials.

Try writing an e-book containing all you have learned on a certain subject and put it up for sale on your website. Then start an affiliate program to increase sales. For example, did you just buy a car? "How to Shop for a New or Used Car Without Being Cheated" can be valuable to other people in the market for a car. Most will be willing to pay for the information in order to save money in the long run. If you haven't bought a new or used car but will be doing it soon, research the topic extensively, buy your car, and write your e-book!

If you're the artistic type, making homemade jewelry, blankets, and craft items could be the thing for you. If you have been doing this already then you have a start. Put these items up for sale on your website or auction them off. It's not as difficult as it sounds. Many people make it a full time job going to rummage and estate sales, then selling their goods for a hefty profit.

Have a Business Plan

First of all, make a list of all the goods or services you want to provide. This can be a short list that you can add to later. Know who your potential customers are and how you will reach them.

Know what your goals are and don't get sidetracked until you're satisfied in your accomplishments, then you can move on to the next. Too many projects going on will leave another area lacking. Learn step by step and stay with the plan.

Set up a budget and stick to it. This will include any materials, software, web hosting, and marketing. When setting this up, do research on what is available and how much it will cost. Where else but online can you set up a business for such little cost?

Burn the Midnight Oil

If you're working now, don't quit your day job just yet. It takes time and patience to establish an online presence and you still need your job to pay the bills and any expenses your online business incurs. Keep learning about things you're interested in so when your first business takes off, you can open up another and create multiple streams of income.

With every new avenue of income, you gain security. If the market changes and one venture isn't earning you the income it used to, then you will have another to fall back on. Keep updated on trends current and marketing. These rapidly change. What's hot and what works one day may be outdated and ineffective the next.

Don't Give Up

Your internet business will start off slow so have patience. If you stick with your plan and nurture it, you will begin earning trust from the online community and the money will start coming in. Don't be afraid of failing, everyone has that fear when they just start out and not everything works. It's NOT taking any action that will get you nowhere.



Lorene Radenz is the owner of http://www.ibizedge.com Your All-In-One Resource Guide for Online Business, providing ideas, resources and webmaster tools for entrepreneurs.

How to Get and Use Testimonials

Angela Wu

Small businesses don't have the same luxury of 'brand-name
recognition' that the big companies have. Thus, we have to
work that much harder to earn our visitor's trust. One way
to build this all-important credibility is to get and use
testimonials from happy customers.

__HOW TO GET TESTIMONIALS FOR AN EXISTING PRODUCT

If your product or service has been available for some
time, then it's not that hard to find out how your
customers feel about their purchase or your service.

1) Unsolicited Testimonials.

Your customer may be so thrilled with your product that
he or she just has to let you know how happy she is. As
a courtesy, you may want to acknowledge her message and
ask for permission to use her testimonial in your
promotions and on your website.

2) Ask.

Don't assume that happy customers will write to you.
Be proactive! For example, you can contact your customers
and ask them for feedback on your product or service. You
can even include an evaluation form with your package to
save time. You'll get both valuable suggestions for product
improvements, and hopefully some testimonials as well.

I've found that customers will often email me with a
question or comment that shows how much he appreciates
my product or service. I answer the email thoroughly,
then follow up with a request for a testimonial.

__HOW TO TESTIMONIALS FOR NEW PRODUCTS OR SERVICES

What do you do if your product is brand-new? You may not
yet have customers, or perhaps your product/service is
something that takes time before results can be seen (for
example, a dog training tutorial).

1) Get a 'Personal Referral'.

Ask colleagues, subscribers, or previous customers
from another product line to attest to your knowledge,
integrity, great customer service, or how your other
product has helped them.

2) Approach a Colleague for a Review.

Find another 'expert' in your target market (*not* a
competitor, though!) and offer him or her a complimentary
copy of your product for review. This has two advantages:
first, you'll get constructive feedback about your
product from someone in your field... and secondly,
you may get a testimonial from it.

Testimonials from 'experts' certainly helps to add
credibility to your offer. However, try to get customer
testimonials as well - it helps to show that you have
happy customers, not just happy colleagues. :-)

3) Make a Special Offer to Your Target Audience.

For example, you could offer the first 20 people to
contact you a free or discounted copy/sample of your
product in exchange for feedback and a testimonial (if
they feel it's warranted, of course).

__A FEW PARTING TIPS...

* Use real testimonials. They have that genuine 'ring' to
them.

* Don't 'polish' or edit to an extreme. Let the testimonial
speak for itself.

* If possible, add credibility by including a name, email
address or URL, your customer's state or province of
residence, or even the customer's company name, job
title, etc.

* Longer testimonials often have more 'impact' than short
ones. Many testimonials can easily be edited to read:

'...truly amazing...'
'...gorgeous...stunning...'

On the other hand, a longer testimonial can be far more
persuasive:

'I was initially reluctant to order any type of jewelry
online ... but I was thrilled when I got my bracelet!
It's gorgeous, one of the most stunning pieces I own.
Thank you so much for your wonderful catalog, and for
your excellent service. I'll be back!'

* Use specific testimonials, whenever possible. Details
make a much 'stronger' or more persuasive testimonial.
For example, 'I love your book!' is not as effective as:

'It's been six months since I purchased your highly
motivating book. I started a new exercise program that
I've stuck to now for 5 months and at 46 years of age,
I have never been more fit in my life. I feel great,
and as an added bonus I've even lost 10 pounds. Thank
you so much. I love your book!'

You can find additional tips in the article, 'How to Harness
the Power of Testimonials', available at
http://onlinebusinessbasics.com/articles estimonialtips.html

Don't be shy to seek and display testimonials -- they're
a valuable asset for marketing your business, and they help
to convert prospects into paying customers.


__________

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Angela is the editor of Online Business Basics, a practical
guide to building a business on a beginner's budget. It's
a proven hit with beginners, for the down-to-earth style
and loads of instantly useable tips! For details, visit
http://onlinebusinessbasics.com/article.html
OR request a series of 10 free reports to get you started:
http://onlinebusinessbasics.com/freereports.html


Hip-hop Jewelry and Today's Stars
Sam Serio



Watch any of the major movie, television, and music award shows on television today and one of the first things you'll notice about the celebrities on the red carpet, aside from their extravagant (and sometimes outlandish) attire, are the amount and size of the jewelry they are wearing. Hip-hop jewelry, more commonly known as bling-bling, is definitely not understated fashion. The bigger and the flashier it is, the better. Preferred by many of today's celebrities, hip-hop jewelry adorns the fingers, necks, arms, even the teeth of many stars.

Oversized studs and chains are the trademarks of hip-hop jewelry and are preferred by celebrities such as Sean Combs, or P. Diddy. At the 2004 MTV Video Music Awards, he sported a diamond ring, bracelet, and watch from Jacob and Company. Rapper 50 Cent is another celebrity who is hardly ever seen without his hip-hop jewelry. On his web site, 50 Cent offers more affordable, though just as flashy, bling-bling for those of us who do not earn the megabucks that he and his fellow celebrities rake in. There are also many other web sites that offer low-priced hip-hop jewelry inspired by popular rap artists.

Hip-hop jewelry comes in many shapes and sizes, all of them meant to catch the eye and attract attention. Heavy chains of silver or gold (or both) can oftentimes be seen on celebrities such as LL Cool J and Ja Rule in their music videos. Hip-hop jewelry web sites offer fully 'iced-out' bling-bling, or watches, rings, bracelets and earrings that are heavily decorated with real or faux diamonds. So-called 'spinner' watches and rings are big best sellers in the hip-hop jewelry category. Also available are customized, removable gold, silver and platinum teeth which may be studded with jewels and gemstones, so even the pearly whites can have their share of hip-hop jewelry.

Women celebrities are keeping pace with their male counterparts when it comes to wearing hip-hop jewelry. Stars such as Beyonce, Lil' Kim, Ashanti and Missy Elliott are regularly seen in pictures wearing large diamond jewelry items of various colors. Even young female celebrities are getting on the bling-bling bandwagon. Teen stars like Jo Jo and Hilary Duff are said to be avid hip-hop jewelry enthusiasts and count themselves among the large number of bejeweled stars today.

Large, ostentatious pieces of jewelry did not start becoming popular only because of the hip-hop cultural phenomenon (think Elvis Presley and Tom Jones), but hip-hop has altered the jewelry market in a big way. Fans see what their favorite celebrities are wearing, and there are numerous options for them to emulate their idols - at least in terms of fashion. Jewelry has always been a part of popular culture, and today's hip-hop jewelry and the celebrities who wear them are even more so in this age of instant information.



For more information on jewelry and gemstones, we cordially invite you to visit www.morninglightjewelry.com to pick up your FREE copy of "How To Buy Jewelry And Gemstones Without Being Ripped Off." This concise, informative special report reveals almost everything you ever wanted to know about jewelry and gemstones, but were afraid to ask. Get your FREE report at www.morninglightjewelry.com.

Sunday, July 31, 2005

Jewelry Making for Fun and Profit

Sam Serio



There is an old adage that says work isn't really work if you enjoy what you're doing. If one of your hobbies is jewelry making, why not turn this activity into a source of income? You're already having fun anyway, and it wouldn't take a whole lot more to share your jewelry creations with people who would appreciate them and be more than happy to pay for them. With a bit of extra effort, time management and discipline, jewelry making is a great way to have fun and make a bit of extra money on the side.

Whether you're a novice about to enter the jewelry making field for the first time or whether you've been doing this for some time now, there are always several basic factors to consider. First, it's important to have an adequate amount of space where you can work unbothered for a certain length of time each day and where you can store your jewelry making materials and tools. It doesn't have to be a large space, just a corner or room where you can concentrate on bringing your ideas to life and be free from undue distractions.

Second, if you haven't already, decide on the kind of jewelry you are going to make. If you're just getting your feet wet in the jewelry making arena, start out with something simple. Think about what type of jewelry you'd enjoy and feel comfortable wearing and go on from there. Whatever materials you might need are readily available either on the Internet or in a physical retail store. Then, as you become more adept at what you're doing, you can start exploring other, more complex jewelry making techniques. Remember, there is a plethora of information resources to help you make money from your hobby: books, specialty magazines, the Internet, and other jewelry makers.

After you've made a number of jewelry items, there are steps you can take to get other people interested in them. Be a walking advertisement for your jewelry making business. Wear some of your creations whenever you go out: wear them to work, when you go to the supermarket, or when you attend parties. Word of mouth is also a great way to let other people know about your jewelry making endeavor. Show some of your finished pieces to family and friends, and encourage them to spread the word.

The important thing to remember is that you continue to enjoy making jewelry and to take pride in your creations. Your love for jewelry making will be the key factor in maintaining your creativity level and it will help you come up with the designs that appreciative customers will buy. Never forget the 'fun' factor in jewelry making, as this will be reflected in your work, and the 'profit' factor will follow.


For more information on jewelry and gemstones, we cordially invite you to visit www.morninglightjewelry.com to pick up your FREE copy of "How To Buy Jewelry And Gemstones Without Being Ripped Off." This concise, informative special report reveals almost everything you ever wanted to know about jewelry and gemstones, but were afraid to ask. Get your FREE report at www.morninglightjewelry.com.

Decorating For Real People
© LaJoyce Kerns of www.decorate-bedrooms-for-less.com

I spent a recent weekend curled up with a stack of decorating magazines. I read them cover to cover - usually back to front, but that's the way I read most magazines and newspapers. I studied each photograph and tried to determine the particular design concept that was being presented. I looked at the number and placement of accessories, how and where arrangements of items were hung on the walls, choices of color and texture, and flooring selections. Each photo was scrutinized in the minutest detail. At some point I started to wonder for whom these absolutely gorgeous rooms were designed.

Bedside tables held no alarm clocks or clock radios. While there was usually an abundance of decorative items, there were no tissue boxes or eyeglass cases. Dressers displayed beautifully arranged floral creations and perhaps a cut glass perfume bottle or two, with ornamental stoppers. No jewelry boxes, no lotion bottles, none of the everyday stuff of life. I don't know about you but I want a telephone at the side of my bed. And someplace handy for the TV remote.

And the bathrooms! Don't even get me started on the bathrooms! Do the users of these bathrooms ever need to replace the toilet paper or the hand soap? Do they have their hair done weekly (maybe daily?) at beauty- or barber-shops and thus have no need of shampoo and conditioner bottles? Toothbrushes, toothpaste and floss? The men don't have to shave and the women have no need of makeup? Streamlining and organization can only take you so far. Sooner or later you need a place for feminine supplies, room deodorizers, and the extra cotton balls and swabs that don't fit into the pretty little designer containers. And I can't be the only person who thinks that a plunger should be stored someplace handy to the location of possible need.

No cords for the lamps, no tangle of wires for the home office computer system. One photograph featured an elegant "work space" with a large bouquet of flowers drooping fetchingly over the printer. I could imagine spent blossoms dropping into the works, and I couldn't imagine how to open the paper tray without knocking the vase over. I suppose the person who would work at such a desk would have no need of a mouse pad, paper clips, or a pile of sticky notes. I wish I could work like that.

I want to know what the rooms in the photographs look like a week later. Are the same three Granny Smith apples still in perfect position on the glass-topped table? Is the fringe on the cashmere afghan still draped just so over the arm of the rocking chair in the baby's room? Does the kitchen counter look bare without the tureen of soup and the matching soup bowls? I mean, the soup was eaten, wasn't it? Am I losing my perspective here?

Show me a playroom after the children have been forced to put away the toys. I'll bet there are no cunning arrangements of stuffed animals having tea, and the blocks aren't stacked into just-right pyramids with one block placed in front and a little to the side. The pillows are all over the room and the bedspread is trailing onto the floor. That's real.

I realize that the decorating magazines present rooms and arrangements that are idealized and stylized. They are intended to give our imaginations a jumping-off point; we are meant to adapt their ideas to our own needs. They do a wonderful job and I will continue to peruse the glossy pages of each publication. Occasionally, however, I'd appreciate a view of a real room, spiffed up for company, perhaps, but real. I want to be able to imagine waking up to the clock radio, to see myself sitting at the computer and actually getting some work done, to know where I would store the supply of makeup without which I cannot face the world. I want to think that I could actually live in the room. Isn't that the point of the whole exercise? Don't we all want comfortable homes that suit our life styles, organized and better looking, maybe, but still us?

Go take a look at the pictures in a decorating magazine. See if you agree with me. I think I'm going to go clean out a couple of drawers and straighten a bookcase shelf or two. It won't end up picture perfect, but it will be real.


LaJoyce Kerns is the creator of the website: www.decorate-bedrooms-for-less.com. She provides tips, ideas and techniques on decorating bedrooms for real people. LaJoyce believes that you can achieve beautiful results without breaking the budget.

How to Make Your Hobby A Paying Homebased Business

Loring Windblad

Copyright 2004 by http://www.organicgreens.us and Loring Windblad. This article may be freely copied and used on other web sites only if it is copied complete with all links and text intact and unchanged except for minor improvements such as misspellings and typos.

It's great to have a challenging and interesting hobby such as origami, papier-m�ch� sculpting, fine art - painting and/or sketching, rockhounding, photography, or jewelry making. It's even more exciting to have a specialty in one of these fields that no one else has, and then to turn your special talents into a successful home-based business. It's gratifying indeed to be able to take two or more of these and combine them into a paying proposition.

That's exactly what Loring Windblad of Sierra Vista, AZ, did.

But these aren't isolated stories. Men and women across the country are joining the ranks of entrepreneurs converting hobbies into moneymaking propositions. It's important to note that none of these women originally planned to start a business. On the contrary, interest by others in their hobbies convinced them to sell their work.

LORING WINDBLAD'S CUSTOM-BUILT COMPUTER BUSINESS

Loring Windblad spent 20 years in the US Army in Electronics, and retired from that position on January 1st, 1976. But in the course of those 20 years additional skills were picked up including teaching (electronics), typing (over 100 wpm), general writing and technical writing (electronics and communications, lesson plans, etc), photography and even SCUBA diving.

Years and miles later (read on below, also) found Loring in Canada playing in a major bridge tournament but also renewing acquaintance with his first love, whom he met in 1952. Strange things happened and they got married in June of 1990 and began their own business in July of 1990. The business took on a form of its own, evolving from humble beginnings into a Desktop Publishing and Graphic Design endeavor by September, when they purchased their own computer - and landed their first big job starting October 1st.

That same Friday night, September 30th, was portentous in several ways. Loring played his baseball games for his computer baseball league and then shut the computer down at midnight and went to bed. When the computer was turned on at 8 am to start the new job, nothing happened. Dead. No computer working. Obviously a dead power supply? No? Actually yes. The computer was two weeks old, under total warranty, but nothing could be done warranty wise over the weekend. So Loring called around to every computer business in the area and found one open on a Saturday morning, drove there, found a power supply that looked exactly like the one in the computer at home, made a deal to "rent it" for a week until a replacement could be gotten on warranty, took it home and put it in the computer.

It worked! The job began, a few hours late but on the day it was supposed to begin. And a new career was launched, even though we didn't know it at the time.

Calling upon his 20 years of experience plus lots of long talks with the Custom Computer Builder who had sold them their first computer, Loring slowly learned about computers and how to build them. Then, in 1992, a friend of a friend wanted a new computer. Loring "custom built" a computer for him, a brand new 486 CPU "screamer" type. The client was well satisfied. Time passed. Friends later in the year wanted computers, so Loring built them new computers. By 1994 Loring was building 5-6 custom computers a month, most months, in the "high profit" days of computers when they paid $400 or more profit per computer.

One of the biggest things was finding wholesale suppliers for a new computer builder to purchase quality components from. With a little help from their original computer salesman, i.e., making careful notes on everything he told them, June and Loring developed a list of possible suppliers, then applied for re-seller status. And sure, there were periods when no computers were sold as well as months when 6-8 were sold. It was obviously a struggle, but a good one.

Networking became a way of life. June joined all the women's networking groups and Loring joined all the missed networking groups. Both made presentations and work came in, both desktop publishing and new computers. From 1995 to 1998 Loring sold an average of 25-30 computers a year. However, by 1998 the profit margin was falling out of computers, the days of $400 were gone. By 1999 the margin was down to $100 a computer and when you are servicing a computer for 3 years warranty service on a total of $100 it starts getting pretty old pretty quick.

The sales kept up for a while, but by 2001 new technology, low profits and pending retirement for June and Loring caused a re-think of priorities. By the end of 2002 building custom computers was a thing of the past and a new era of life - retirement - was upon us. But the trip to and through building computers has been a fascinating one.

LORING WINDBLAD'S PHOTOGRAPHY VENTURE

Way back when Loring first met June he learned that June knew how to not only take pictures but to develop and print those pictures in her basement darkroom. Never one to take a back seat when he could be learning something new, when Loring a few years later went to Vietnam in the Army he took up photography, including learning how to develop and print his photographs. This was 1965 to 1967. And in 1966 Loring helped to establish and run the unit photo hobby shop in Vietnam.

When Loring returned to the US he became an electronics instructor at Fort Monmouth, New Jersey, and he quickly made contact with the Post Photo Hobby Shop and got a part time job, thus learning more about photography for himself but also helping to teach others the fine art of photography.

Loring's next posting was to Panama where he continued with the local Post Photo Hobby Shop as a Photo and Color Printing Instructor for 2 � years, and also picking up work as a free-lance photographer. Loring soon began photographing such things as kids visiting with Santa, then developing and printing and delivering the photos, Then action work such as youth Karate matches, Pop Warner football games, Little League baseball games, and both team and individual photos. And, of course, weddings. All these photo endeavors paid surprisingly well, and Loring was soon not only very busy but making enough money to more than support his photography needs. And teaching helped keep Loring up with everything in the photography field so soon everyone with a question about cameras and photography was coming to him.

Being around military bases there was always opportunity for youth sporting event photography. And wedding photography. From 1970 thru about 1977 Loring did a pretty brisk business in photography, made a lot of friends and took a lot of pictures. And made a pretty good "extra income" that not only paid for all his cameras and supplies but provided a lot of extra money supplementing his income.

But it was hard work and long hours and Loring's son, silver smithing and rockhounding were getting in the way. The transition was made leaving photography behind and embracing a new business - jewelry making and silver smithing.

LORING WINDBLAD'S SILVER-SMITHING BONANZA

Loring was always a rock collector. This gave him an eye for rocks that were different everywhere he went. As a soldier in the US Army he managed to live in France for four years, Panama for five years, and Southeast Asia (Vietnam) for 2 years, as well as extensive periods from coast to coast across the United States including California, Georgia, New Jersey, Kansas and Arizona.

Loring was divorced while he was in Vietnam when his son was three. Eight years later, in August of 1975, his ex- called and said, "I can't handle your son any more. You've got to take him!" Without getting into gory details-."Well, ok", and his son came to Arizona to live with him.

Loring, Jr., was an excellent artist and got straight A's in art in school. He was now in a new environment and Windy, as a way of keeping his son's interest up in the arts and new things, began taking Jr. and his friends out on camping and sightseeing trips in the Arizona desert. Loring also was taking Geology courses with the local Junior College, and began imparting that knowledge to his son and his son's friends while on their outings in the desert and mountain country of SE Arizona, the Basin and Range country.

Rockhounding gave the desert jaunts with his son extra meaning. Identification of various kinds of rocks and geological formations soon were followed with explorations of the old turquoise mines and an education in the copper-related gemstones of turquoise, malachite, azurite and chrisocolla. Use of the Army's lapidary hobby shop led to cutting slabs of the stones, revealing hidden patterns, then cutting the stone slabs into cabochons enhancing the pattern intricacies.

What are cabochons without jewelry? Silver smithing classes followed and then Junior turned his cabochons into some jewelry pieces for his mother and sister. Then came wax carving and lost wax casting, running the full gamut of classes and skills available. In order to keep expenses down Windy located wholesale outlets which supplied him with components to assemble jewelry such as chains, pendants, findings, etc.

After two years, Junior decided it was time to move back with his mother and Windy was left with all sorts time, of jewelry skills and pieces of original jewelry building up, some pieces rather unique. He turned to the local flea market and soon established himself as a regular jewelry maker, attending almost every weekend. Sales increased, and soon Windy began his jewelry business, The Stonewerkes, Southwest Originals in Wood and Stone. He was attending weekend flea markets and Art in the Park and Craft shows all over Arizona to sell his products. And he built up a chain of 8 businesses in two states which also handled his jewelry on consignment.

Loring actually took his "rockhounding" hobby turned jewelry business a large step further. He subscribed to all the commercial and trade magazines as well, and then combined his talents as a photographer and as a writer, photographed his silver smithing and lapidary work, wrote photo-journalism articles on "how to" silver smithing projects and then sold them to the magazines.

Loring says "You never know when what you do as a hobby can end up being a very profitable business. Over the past 40 years I have had the rare pleasure of turning three hobbies into professions: photography, electronics and now rockhounding. And using other skills such as technical writing and typing in those endeavors. From humble beginnings-."


Loring Windblad has operated his own HBBs for nearly 40 years, is a published author and freelance writer. Loring has written grants, business plans and resumes that got the job done right. His latest HBB endeavor is http://www.organicgreens.us

How Much Should You Pay for a Click
Andy Quick

Title: "How Much Should You Pay for a Click?"
Copyright © 2002
Author: Andy Quick
Contact Author: mailto:andy@findmyhosting.com
Website: http:// http://www.findmyhosting.com/web-
resources/Articles/howmuch.htm
Publishing Guidelines: You have permission to publish this article
electronically or in print, free of charge, as long as the resource box
at bottom is included. No notification required.

How Much Should You Pay for a Click?
Andy Quick

You have a web site ready for action. Your product catalog, order
tracking, credit card payment system, and fulfillment process are all
in place. Now all you need is traffic! Many web entrepreneurs have
learned that the magic nut to crack is attraction: get a steady flow of
customers who explore your site and eventually purchase goods. The
overhead costs of most web businesses are minimal relative to brick and
mortar stores. However, the variable marketing costs can over shadow
sales revenues by orders of magnitudes. Unfortunately, unlike the
saying in the movie Field of Dreams, "If you build it, they will not
come!" Luckily, the industry has learned this lesson; some the hard
way, and others in spite of the losers. Dot-coms are clearly not the
darlings of the capital markets any longer; however, there is still
money to be made! If you plan to start a web business or already have
one but are not sure how to increase traffic and make money at the same
time, you should consider a science-driven approach. What does that
mean? Read on-

How to Lose $500 in 12 Hours

One weekend, my business partner and I created an affiliate commerce
site. The site comprised a list of links to other online retailers.
People go to our site, pick a link to a jewelry store for example, buy
something, and in turn we receive a commission from the sale. The
process of creating the site, signing up the affiliate agreements, and
turning it on was a cinch. The cost was virtually nothing. We, being
new to this whole web business concept, thought we had an incredibly
smart marketing idea: pay to have our site come up in an ad box on a
major search engine (Google) every time someone searched on the word
"gifts". The word gifts is searched for 49,000 times per day! We
figured we would have a good flow of visitors and the money would start
rolling in. For certain, we would at least break even. We sunk $500 in
one day and let it rip. Here's what happened:

Our investment in Google - $ 500
Number of times our ad was displayed (impressions) - 36,964
Number of times people actually clicked on our ad when they saw it
(click-throughs) - 429
Number of times a person visiting our site made a purchase - 10
Our total sales revenue- $ 77
Our total gross profit - $ (428)

The whole process took less than 12 hours. At least we learned a lesson
quickly at a relatively low cost. Let's look at this event from a
slightly different perspective, putting the costs in terms of number of
visitors:

Our investment in Google - $ 500
Number of times our ad was displayed (impressions) - 36,964
Number of times people actually clicked on our ad when they saw it
(click-throughs) - 429
Ad cost per visitor - $ 1.17
Number of times a person visiting our site made a purchase - 10
Average sale per purchase - $ 7.70
Average revenue per visitor - $ 0.18
Average gross profit per visitor - $ (0.99)

We were basically giving $1 away for each visitor that came to the
site. Not a winning business model. However, taking this information,
we can assess which marketing techniques can work best for the
business. Let's add 2 additional critical data points to our table:

Our investment in Google - $ 500
Number of times our ad was displayed (impressions)- 36,964
Number of times people actually clicked on our ad when they saw it
(click-throughs) - 429
Percentage people who clicked on our ad (click-through rate)- % 1.16
Ad cost per visitor - $ 1.17
Number of times a person visiting our site made a purchase - 10
Percentage of visitors who purchased something (conversion rate)-% 2.3
Average sale per purchase- $ 7.70
Average revenue per visitor- $ 0.18
Average gross profit per visitor- $ (0.99)

Running the Numbers

Putting this all together, you can create a formula for estimating the
gross margin per visitor for a specific marketing campaign:

Average Gross Margin per Visitor = Average revenue per visitor -
Advertising Cost per Visitor
Advertising Cost per Visitor = Campaign Costs /(Impressions x Click-
through rate)

Average revenue per visitor = Conversion rate x Average sale per
purchase

Putting it together:

Average Gross Margin per Visitor = (Conversion rate x Average sale per
purchase) - (Campaign Costs / Impressions x Click-through rate)

Using our Google example, the average gross margin per visitor would be
calculated as:

Average Gross Margin per Visitor = (0.023 x $ 7.7) - $500 / (36,964 x
.016) = (0.99)

Remember, this formula can only be used for a single type of campaign.
Depending upon your target audience and the type of campaign, all of
the above variables can change. When we launched our Google campaign,
we used impression-based advertising, that is, we paid Google a certain
amount of money for every 1,000 impressions of our ad (about $15 per
1,000 impressions in our example). However, just because our ad was
displayed inside someone's browser did not mean they would click on the
ad itself.

Enter pay-per-click advertising. This advertising model allows you to
pay for an ad only when a person actually clicks on it. In this model,
you are guaranteed to get visitors. However, the cost per click is
usually much higher. Let us assume we ran our same Google campaign
except we used pay-per-click advertising. Pay-per-click also factors in
position which will drive the amount you pay per click (the higher the
ad position on the screen, the higher the price per click will be).
Let's say we pay google $0.50 per click and based on Google's traffic
for the word gifts, we receive 170 clicks per day (or visitors), or in
total 1000 visitors over the life of the campaign (we still only put in
$500, so $500/$0.50 = 1000). Using our same ratios, let us re-compute
our Average Gross Margin per Visitor, modifying our formula slightly
(notice the formula is simpler):

Average Gross Margin per Visitor = (Conversion rate x Average sale per
purchase) - (Campaign Costs / Visitors)

Plugging in the numbers:

Average Gross Margin per Visitors = (.023 x $ 7.7) - ($500 / 1000) =
(0.32)

If we used a pay-per-click advertising model, we could have saved $100.
Either way, we would have lost money, but imagine if we had started
with $5,000 instead of $500. The nice feature of pay-per-click is that
you know ahead of time how many visitors you will receive. If you know
your conversion rate and your average sale, you can modify the formula
to determine the most you should pay for a pay-per-click campaign:

Max Pay-per-click = (Conversion rate x Average Sale per purchase)

In our Google example, our maximum pay-per-click should be $0.18. For
every penny we pay less than our maximum pay-per-click, we're making
money! Unfortunately, as of this writing, the minimum pay-per-click
cost for the word "gifts" on Google is $0.37. The ultimate lesson is
that for this particular site, the Google marketing campaign will not
generate sales revenues. But is that really true? We could increase our
conversion rate and our average sale per purchase. We could increase
our conversion rate by optimizing the design of the web pages. We could
increase our average sale per purchase by entering affiliate agreements
that offer higher commissions. Let's say we used the $0.37 pay-per-
click model on Google for our gift site. In order to make money we
would have to get our average revenue per visitor to at least $0.38. If
we just focused on our conversion rate, we would need to increase the
percentage of visitors who make a purchase to 4.9%. If we left
conversion rate alone, we would need to increase the average sale per
purchase to $16.50. Alternatively, we could try and increase them both.

Not All Ad Models Are Created Equal

Using the same model, let's look at a different type of campaign:
newsletter advertising. This form of advertising involves placing an ad
embedded in a newsletter that is distributed to a subscriber base via
email. The model for calculating average gross margin per visitor is
exactly the same as impression based, except your target market is
different. For example, let us say we spend $1,000 to place an ad in an
email newsletter about shopping tips. And let's say the newsletter
reaches 500,000 subscribers. If we used the same click-through rates
and conversion rates, our average gross margin per visitor would be:

Average Gross Margin per Visitor = (.023 x $ 7.7) - $1000 / (500,000 x
.0116) = $0.004

We're making money!! (not much, but the margin is positive).
Translation: this campaign brings us under a half a penny per visitor.
Another helpful ratio is to calculate the return on your advertising
dollar:

Return of Advertising = [(Impressions x Click-through rate x Conversion
rate x Average sale per purchase) - Campaign Cost] / Campaign Cost

Or in our case:

Return of Advertising = [(500,000 x .0116 x .023 x $ 7.7) - $1000] /
$1000 = 2.7%. Translation: you're making 2.7 cents in gross revenue
for every dollar of advertising you spend. Also keep in my mind that
this newsletter reaches a different target audience. While people on
Google may casually look for gifts, the recipients of a shopping
newsletter may have a higher tendency to buy (i.e. your conversion rate
may be higher). If your conversion rate were higher, let's say 3%, your
new average gross margin per visitor becomes $0.05!! or a 34% return on
our dollar.

The Bottom Line

Using formulas to compute the success of marketing plans is extremely
helpful and reduces the risk of throwing away precious advertising
dollars. However, understand that each marketing campaign will differ
based on cost per click, conversion rates, target audience, and average
sales per purchase. I encourage you to track all the data available
about your marketing campaigns so you can realize profits instead of
losses.

Marketing on the web can be difficult. Predicting the behavior of
surfers is an art unto itself. Before you begin spending a lot of money
on advertising, experiment with different types of campaigns, track all
of the results, and make future marketing decisions based on real
customer behavior. Also keep in mind that there are other, free forms
of advertising. Writing articles, participating in newsgroups, print
advertising, and email marketing are other examples. Remember that all
of these marketing techniques will have different click-through rates,
conversion rates, and revenues per visitor.

Andy Quick is co-founder of Findmyhosting.com (www.findmyhosting.com),
a free web hosting directory offering businesses and consumers a hassle
free way to find the right hosting plan for their needs. Feel free to
contact Andy at andy@findmyhosting.com in case you have any questions
or comments regarding this article.


Andy Quick is co-founder of Findmyhosting.com (www.findmyhosting.com),
a free web hosting directory offering businesses and consumers a hassle
free way to find the right hosting plan for their needs. Feel free to
contact Andy at andy@findmyhosting.com in case you have any questions
or comments regarding this article.

Saturday, July 30, 2005

A Beginner's Guide to Bad Credit Secured Loans

John Mussi

Here is a useful beginner's guide to bad credit secured loans. If your credit is less than perfect but you find yourself needing money now, you might want to look into bad credit secured loans. If you're not sure what these are, bad credit secured loans are loans designed for people who are considered credit risks by many institutions. They're called "secured" loans because they require some sort of security deposit (also known as "collateral"), which helps to protect the lender against some of the risk of lending. These loans allow you to get the money that you need without having to pay outrageous fees, and as long as you pay the bad credit secured loan back on time then there's no real risk to your collateral.

Common types of collateral
While collateral can be pretty much anything with a value equal to or greater than the amount of the bad credit loan, the most common types of collateral are automobiles and real estate. With most bad credit secured loans, you don't even have to give up your collateral- you get to keep driving your car and can still live in your house, but the bank or other lender gains a legal claim to the title or the deed so that if you don't repay the bad credit loan (also known as "defaulting") then they can repossess the collateral and sell it to get their money back. Of course, with some types of collateral the lender might prefer to hold onto it until the loan is repaid; common collateral of this type is jewelry, rare coins, or other small-but-valuable items. This practice helps to insure that the property you're using as collateral isn't lost or stolen before the time they would have to repossess.

Getting bad credit secured loans
Some lenders don't offer bad credit secured loans- even with the collateral, they consider them to be too much risk. Other lenders deal almost exclusively in bad credit secured loans, using the mindset that people with bad credit have to go somewhere and that their establishment might as well be that place. Shop around before deciding on a single place, seeing what interest rates and repayment terms various lenders offer. You might even check out some of the many lenders online.

Once you've decided on a lender, go and apply for your loan. The maximum amount that you'll likely get will still be a lot less than the value of your collateral- after all, the lenders who deal in bad credit secured loans want to make sure that they'll recover their money even if your collateral doesn't sell for much. Once you've obtained your loan, work to pay it back as quickly as possible; not only will this remove any danger of you losing your collateral, but it will also create a good impression with this lender should you need to borrow money from them again someday.

You may freely reprint this article provided the following author's biography (including the live URL link) remains intact:



John Mussi is the founder of Direct Online Loans who help homeowners find the best available loans via the www.directonlineloans.co.uk website.


30th Birthday Gift Ideas
Siwarin Eampun

Choosing a birthday gift for a friend about to turn thirty years old can be a challenging task. You want to honor the special day with a unique gift, but not necessarily draw attention to their age. After all, thirty is the pivotal year of life when we transition from young adults to full-fledged grownups. Make your loved one feel their best on their big day by choosing a gift that focuses on the beginning of his or her life, not the number of years that have passed.

If you want to give a truly personal gift, you cannot go wrong with a birthstone-- a gift idea that dates back to Biblical times. Birthstones and zodiac stones are great gifts that hold deep significance and will be treasured for years. When making your purchase, be sure to keep in mind the type and size of jewelry the person wears most often, as well as whether she prefers gold or silver. This way, you can embed her birthstone, for instance a pearl for a June birthday, in a setting that will be adored. Birthstones are also stunning when mounted in watches, brooches, and hairpins for those who rarely wear rings or necklaces. If you are shopping for a man, he may prefer a pocket watch or specialty ink pen imbedded with his birthstone to jewelry. Following, is a list of birthstones:

January -- Garnet
February -- Light Purple Amethyst
March -- Blue/Green Aquamarine
April -- Diamond
May -- Emerald
June -- Pearl
July -- Ruby
August -- Light Green Peridot
September -- Blue Sapphire
October -- Multi-Color Opal
November -- Golden Topaz
December -- Turquoise or Blue Zircon

Some people have a special interest or belief in their astrological information. If this is the case with your friend, consider giving him or her a physical symbol of the zodiac and of your love with a zodiac stone gift, sometimes called Astral Stones. As with the birthstone tradition, a gemstone is assigned to each of the twelve zodiac signs. If your friend is a Cancer, for instance, he or she will cherish an emerald and its professed abilities to increase courage and health. When presenting a zodiac stone gift, include a description of the gem's astrological significance and origins. Following is a list of zodiac stones:

Aquarius -- Garnet
Pisces -- Amethyst, Aquamarine
Aries -- Bloodstone
Taurus -- Sapphire
Gemini -- Agate, Alexandrite
Cancer -- Emerald
Leo -- Onyx, Peridot
Virgo -- Carnelian
Libra -- Opal
Scorpio -- Beryl
Sagittarius -- Topaz
Capricorn -- Ruby

Whether you purchase a birthstone or a zodiac gemstone, you'll honor your friend's thirtieth birthday in a distinctive, personal, and memorable way.

Jewelry Designer
www.ninecarat.com

Friday, July 29, 2005

Understanding Celtic Wedding Rings

Marc Choyt

Thousands of years ago, the Celts, a group of independent tribes spread throughout much of current day Europe, were sophisticated artisans, carving knot work patterns that have inspired modern day jewelers to create wedding rings. These motifs have meaning. Yet understanding the knot patterns and why they make such ideal wedding rings can be illusive. The ancient motifs are rooted in mysterious cultures that stretch back well before written history.

Though the earliest written accounts of the Celts were from Roman descriptions, some knot work motifs found in Eastern Europe may be as old as 20,000 years. We know the Celts, similar to Native people of North America, viewed that the earth itself as well as all aspects of life and death as divine. They had a large and varied pantheon, worshipping local gods. The natural world was considered sacred, and every river, mountain and tree had its own spirit of place. Rituals were rooted in a particular oak grove or waterfall. Early Celtic leaders even mocked human-like images of Olympian gods or the wild animals of their vale and forests.

Knot work, which has become synonymous with today's idea of "Celtic" was undoubtedly a form of sacred, artistic expression. Some of the most famous designs were preserved in highly embellished, illuminated manuscripts, such as the Book of Kells which somehow survived the Viking invasions. It was created in the 9th century at a monastery off the Scottish coast, and depicts wonderfully imaginative images of humans and animals embellished with knot work motifs, linking medieval Christianity with ancient Druidic culture.

In Western culture, there is a long and venerable tradition of artists that have been inspired by knot work motifs. Celtic design was particularly popular in the Renaissance. Leonardo da Vinci, Michelangelo, and Raphael studied and depicted knots in their work. In modern times, some of Picasso's early art is highly influenced by knot work. And there has always been a group of metal and visual artists that have kept the Celtic fires burning by using the knot work patterns in jewelry and other forms of artistic expression.

For some people, the choice to have a Celtic wedding ring is an expression of their wish to connect deeply into their own ancestry. They feel empathy with a European based tribal tradition that treats the earth as Mother. It's also easy to fall in love with soulful Celtic music and poetry. Others simply want the one piece of jewelry that they wear every day to have a beautiful design with significance.

Whether one has Celtic heritage or not, a Celtic motif wedding ring is appropriate because it has universal, symbolic meaning. In the most general sense, the knots express two different paths woven together. Life itself can be viewed as a great web of interconnectedness which is expressed in the knot work. Even our own spiritual path, metaphorically, can be viewed as a tapestry of interconnected experiences. The Celtic wedding ring is a talisman which reminds us, in physical form, of our mystic connection with another person and the great web of life.

This weave of particular experiences makes us unique, which is why we are attracted to some knot work patterns on wedding rings more than others. What appeals to you and your fianc� may well bring insight to the nature of your relationship. Some couples are attracted to knot work motifs that are simple and flowing, which perhaps illustrates a partnership based on harmony and ease. Other knot work designs on wedding rings are more dynamic and complicated, suggesting creative elements, or passionate peaks and valleys.

Many Celtic merchants will label a particular design as "Friendship" or "Unity" but often there's not any real basis for these labels. These facile tags short change the person interested in the ring by giving a concept instead of assisting them to understand the deeper meaning behind the design. It's also easy enough to say that the ring is about how all things are interconnected, but this is so general that it doesn't help explain why we may be attracted to the sacred geometry of one ring over another.

To do this, you can contemplate the various components that make up the knot work and try to determine how they are functioning. For example, consider the circle. We speak of a circle of friends and live in circular cycles, such as the day and the season. Native cultures throughout the world hold ceremonies in protective circles. A knot work pattern with circles or variations of circles certainly has some important keys to relationships and community. In the broadest sense, the ring itself is a circle, and putting it on has also always been symbolic of sealing a commitment.

A square knot motif concerns structure, which is why buildings use the shape of a square foundation. Squares certainly have an element of stability. Numbers were a significant part Celtic lore, and the number five represented the four directions and the center point.

Many Celtic rings also deal with vectors that travel in a certain direction. If you look at the shape of an arrow, it's easy to understand why a triangle might connote movement.

Another common Celtic motif is the knot work depicting a trinity. Many Celtic deities had three forms. The Mother Goddess was understood to the maiden, mother and crone. The universe was viewed as heaven, earth and otherworld. We are born, we live and we die. Certainly the trinity knot also illustrates the One being dividing off into the masculine and feminine, or the mother and son-- a mystical truth contemplated in many sacred traditions.

While the above guide for understanding knot work is not necessarily based on any scholarly or anthropological text on the meaning of knots, it does provide a starting point that is based on a universal perspective. Every Celtic ring is going to have some variation of these shapes. Spending some time contemplating the motif may yield some insight.

Though modern jewelry techniques allow a greater range of possibilities than the Celts had during the time of the Romans, finding an exceptional Celtic wedding ring at a local jewelry store may not be possible. The best place to search is on the internet, which has the widest selection. Today you can find rings made with platinum, or white and yellow gold accented with diamonds. Some of the most beautiful rings are bi-metal, where the knots are one color, such as white gold, while the rim of the ring might be yellow gold. There is a wide range of class and price.

Your wedding ring is a once in a life time purchase that you will live with every day. It must be aesthetically beautiful. The knot work on the rings should be well executed. It should have some meaning that makes sense for you which should be explained on the website.

The best jewelry designers offer engagement ring sets, along with the option of having a wider band for the gent and a narrower of the same knot work motif for the lady. You'll want it comfort fit, which means that the band tapers slightly toward the center, making it easy to wear. Since it is very likely within the course of a marriage that you'll gain or loose twenty pounds, it is most advantageous to choose a ring with a sizing band.

The company you choose should have a record of creditability backed up by customer service, guaranteeing their product. Give them a call and see if they are worthy of doing business with. A track record of timely delivery is also essential. It's not uncommon for a ring from outside the US to be held up by Customs, for example.

Finally, the most important thing is to trust your feelings. The rings should be unique and resonate with your own profound, sacred connection and commitment to your beloved.


Marc Choyt graduated from Brown University in 1984 with
a degree in English. In 1995, he received an MA degree in
Humanities from St. John's College. In 1996, he and his
wife, Helen Chantler, founded Reflective Images, a designer
jewelry company specializing in contemporary Celtic jewelry.
http://www.artisanweddingrings.com Please send email requests to
marek@celticjewelry.com.


Toss it, or keep it?
Jennifer Holder

If you are a product junkie like me then you probably have lotions, creams, tubes of lipstick etc that have been sitting in the same spot untouched for several months or even years. You know the items that you just had to have but then forgot about after the thrill of buying it wore off. This article is intended to be used as a guide for product junkies everywhere to know when a product should be thrown away or kept around for a little while longer.
Everything has a shelf life including our make-up and all other potions and lotions. But there are things you can do to lengthen the life of your products.
1.Keep your products out of the bathroom this includes any prescriptions or over the counter medications too. Humidity can affect the life of all products.
2.Keep away from extreme temperatures including direct sunlight which could change the color and fragrance.
3.Do not share any products unless they come in a pump bottle or new applicator for each use. Bacteria can build up and shorten the life of your product. Or worse cause you to get an infection.

Lotions and Creams
Separation after sitting for a while means the product should be tossed. Smell is also an important factor. If the products smell changes in any way that is a good indication that it has expired. Toss it!
Foundations, moisturizers etc all have a shelf life of about a year after opening as long as they are stored properly. If you notice any change in consistency or fragrance it's a pretty safe bet that it is no longer good. If you still have that cover up from when you went to prom do yourself a favor and Toss it!
Fragrances
If stored properly away from heat and cold your favorite scent can last 3 to 5 years. It is a good idea to store fragrances in a cool dark area such as a jewelry box or drawer.
Powders
All types of powders including blush and eye shadow have a pretty long shelf life as long as you use a new or cleaned applicator with each use. Have you ever seen someone's powder compact with a dark film on top? That is an accumulation of oils from the skin that have been trapped in the puff and then absorbed into the powder. Yuck! Avoid this by either washing your applicator regularly or buying a bag of applicators at a dollar store and use a fresh one each time you apply your powder. Powder brushes for loose powder should be cleaned at least once a week to keep your powder fresh.
Pencils
Pencils have a pretty long shelf life because every time you sharpen eyeliner or lip pencil you are exposing new product. It is a good idea to sharpen your pencils at least once a week to remove any contaminants. Do not let your pencils get wet and then dry out again. This may cause mold to form.
Lipsticks and glosses
Bacteria does not thrive on wax based products so these types of products tend to last quit a long time about 1 to 2 years. If you notice "beading" on the surface of your lipstick this indicates that it has been exposed to heat or is aging. Check the color and consistency and if it appears to have changed: Toss it! Lip glosses with wand applicators should never be shared because bacteria can get trapped inside the container. To be on the safe side replace these types of glosses every six months.
Mascara and Liquid Eyeliner
The MAX shelf life for these kinds of products is 3 months!! Do yourself a favor and label your mascara's and liquid eyeliners with the date that it was opened on the package somewhere. Your eye area is one of the most sensitive parts on your body. You do not want to take any chances of getting some sort of infection. It is also a bad idea to share these types of products too. When you use mascara or liner do not pump the wand, this cause air and bacteria to get trapped inside. Instead wipe the sides of the tube to pick up color.
Products like the ones mentioned in this article can make you look and feel you're best but it is important to know that it is not a good idea to keep these types of things for an extended period of time. I would suggest you do a "spring" clean of your make-up bag every three months or so. Then go shopping for new products! You deserve it!



Jennifer Holder is an Independent AVON Representative and a Stay at home mom with two children. She can be contacted by email at avonjen@yahoo.com or by visiting her website at http://www.youravon.com/jenniferholder where you can also find more great tips and advice on health and beauty.